Nashua-Plainfield voters approve PPEL; Willsher, Dean elected to City Council

Anthofer will be city's new mayor; two council seats remain undecided

Nashua-Plainfield Community Schools will keep a voter-approved Physical Plant and Equipment Levy in place for 10 years after voters approved renewing the levy commonly referred to by its acronym, PPEL, during Tuesday night’s election.

The renewal received 173 votes while 100 residents voted against the measure that will allow Nashua-Plainfield to continue collect $1.34 per $1,000 valuation to help fund technology upgrades and maintenance, the purchases of buses and other vehicles, maintaining buildings and grounds and buying software for the district.

On the city side of Tuesday’s election, Nashua elected two new members to the City Council as Ernest Willsher received 115 votes while Rhonda Dean earned a seat with 71 votes. Samantha Johnson finished third with 63 votes while Virginia Ginny Olsen garnered 60 votes.

Nashua residents also elected a new mayor as Alex Anthofer ran unopposed for the office currently held by Butch Betsinger, who did not seek a second term. Anthofer has served on the City Council for the past two years, and his ascension to mayor will mean the City Council will either have to appoint a replacement or call for a special election. No one filed for a fourth seat, a two-year term to fill a vacancy, and write-in votes were not scheduled to be tabulated until Wednesday.

— For more on this story, see the Nov. 4 Reporter

New Hampton Tribune

121 West Main Street
New Hampton, IA 50659
Phone: (641) 394-2111

Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

Manage my subscriptions

Subscribe to Tribune Newsletter feed
Comment Here